LOGIN      CONTACT GMA      NEW TO GMA?                  

Retirement Fund


After years of devotion to municipal service, your employees shouldn’t have to worry about what happens when they retire. That’s where our Georgia Municipal Employee Benefit System (GMEBS) Retirement Fund steps in. Created in 1965, our longstanding fund offers customized retirement coverage for more than 280 local government entities. Learn more about our retirement benefits and plan options.


GMEBS offers competitive benefits that make it a better choice than standalone commercial offerings.
  • A comprehensive, well-diversified investment portfolio that’s audited annually. Our $1.3 billion+ in assets have withstood the test of time and successfully weathered major recessions and downturns. By combining our member assets, we achieve investment economies of scale that you could not achieve alone.
  • An annual actuarial valuation to ensure you’re always able to pay benefits.
  • Individual benefit statements for each employee. We make it easy for employees to track and assess their individual retirement benefit status.
  • Complete administrative services and competitive administrative costs. By pooling together the resources of more than 280 Georgia municipalities and keeping our administration in-house, we keep costs competitively low while still offering help with plan design, implementation, and support.

Plan Options

GMA offers you a defined benefit plan that you can customize.


Once you decide on the options you want, we perform a cost study for you. Overall, your retirement plan’s cost will vary annually depending on the demographics of your employees along with some other factors. Your retirement plan’s administrative costs will vary based on your retirement plan’s complexity, the number of employees on your plan, and your total assets.

Am I Eligible?

You are eligible for the GMEBS fund if you are a:
  • Municipality
  • Municipal authority
  • Municipal commission
  • Regional commission
Eligible employees must be active, permanent, and full-time (employed at least 20 hours per week on a regular basis).
Municipalities of every size and in every Georgia region use our service. We know how to serve a city like yours.


Abbeville Jeffersonville
Acworth Jesup
Adairsville Jonesboro
Adel Jonesboro Housing Authority
Alamo Kennesaw
Alma Kingsland
Americus LaFayette
Aragon LaGrange
Ashburn LaGrange Housing Authority
Attapulgus Lake City
Auburn Lake Park
Augusta Lavonia
Augusta-Richmond Cty Planning Comm. Lavonia Housing Authority
Austell Leesburg
Avondale Estates Lenox
Bainbridge Liberty Consolidated Planning Commission
Bainbridge Decatur County Recreation Authority Lincolnton
Ball Ground Lithonia
Barnesville Locust Grove
Baxley Loganville
Berlin Lookout Mountain
Blackshear Louisville
Blairsville Lovejoy
Blakely Lumpkin
Blakely-Early County Department of Recrecreation Lyons
Blue Ridge Madison
Bowdon Manchester
Bowman Marshallville
Bremen McDonough
Brooklet McRae-Helena
Broxton Menlo
Brunswick-Glynn County Joint Water and Sewer Commission Middle Georgia Regional Commission
Buchanan Midville
Buena Vista Midway
Buford Millen
Butler Milton
Byron Monroe
Cairo Montezuma
Calhoun Monticello
Camilla Morrow
Canon Mount Airy
Canton Mount Vernon
Carnesville Mount Vernon Housing Authority
Carrollton Mount Zion
Cave Spring Nahunta
Cedartown Nashville
Centerville Newnan
Chamblee Nicholls
Chatsworth Nicholson
Chatsworth Water Works Commission Norcross
Cherokee County Water and Sewerage Authority Northeast Georgia Housing Authority
Chester Northeast Georgia Regional Commission
Chickamauga Northwest Georgia Regional Commission
Clarkesville Oakwood
Clarkston Ocilla
Claxton Oglethorpe
Clayton Housing Authority Oxford
Cleveland Palmetto
Coastal Regional Commission Patterson
Cochran Pelham
College Park Pembroke
Colquitt Perry
Comer Pine Mountain
Commerce Pooler
Conyers Port Wentworth
Conyers Housing Authority Portal
Cordele Powder Springs
Cornelia Quitman
Cumming Reidsville
Cuthbert Remerton
Dacula Reynolds
Dahlonega Riceboro
Dallas Richmond Hill
Danielsville Rincon
Darien Roberta
Davisboro Rochelle
Dawson Rockmart
Dawsonville Rome
Demorest Rome-Floyd County Recreation Authority
Doerun Rossville
Donalsonville Roswell
Douglas Royston
Douglasville Sandersville
Douglasville-Douglas County Water and Sewer Authority Senoia
Dublin Sky Valley
Dublin-Laurens County Recreation Authority Smithville
Duluth Smyrna
East Ellijay Snellville
Eastman Social Circle
Eatonton Soperton
Eatonton-Putnam County Water and Sewer Authority Southern Georgia Regional Commission
Elberton Springfield
Ellaville St. Marys
Ellijay Statesboro
Ellijay-Gilmer County Water and Sewer Authority Stockbridge
Emerson Stone Mountain
Enigma Summerville
Fairburn Suwanee
Fayetteville Swainsboro
Fitzgerald Sylvania
Fitzgerald Water, Light and Bond Commission Sylvester
Flint Area Consolidated Housing Authority Tallapoosa
Flowery Branch Temple
Forsyth Tennille
Fort Oglethorpe Thomaston
Fort Valley Thomson
Fort Valley Utility Commission Thunderbolt
Franklin Toccoa
Gainesville Towns County Water and Sewerage Authority
Garden City Trion
Unified Government of Georgetown-Quitman County Tybee Island
Georgia Emergency Management Agency (GEMA) (1) Tyrone
Georgia Mountains Regional Commission Unadilla Housing Authority
Georgia Municipal Association Union City
Gibson Union Point
Glennville Valdosta
Gordon Valdosta-Lowndes County Parks and Recreation Authority
Gray Vidalia
Greensboro Vidalia Housing Authority
Greenville Vienna
Griffin Vienna Housing Authority
Grovetown Villa Rica
Guyton Villa Rica Housing Authority
Hagan Wadley
Hahira Waleska
Hampton Walthourville
Harlem Warm Springs
Hartwell Warner Robins
Hawkinsville Warrenton
Hazlehurst Washington
Heard County Water Authority Waycross
Heart of Georgia Altamaha Regional Commission Waynesboro
Henry County Water Authority West Point
Hephzibah Whigham
Hiawassee White
Hinesville Whitesburg
Hiram Willacoochee
Hogansville Winder
Holly Springs Woodbine
Jackson Woodbury
Jackson County Water & Sewerage Authority Woodstock
Jasper Wrens
Jasper County Joint 911 Authority Wrightsville
If GMA is not administering your defined benefit plan through GMEBS, call us today. You can reach out to:
  Need Service or Support?
If you’re already using this service, call (678) 686-6297 or toll-free outside the Atlanta calling area at (888) 488-4462.
  • We have more than 45 years of experience helping members like you with retirement benefits.
  • Our membership-controlled retirement fund has more than 280 members.
  • With assets in excess of $1.3 billion, our fund covers more than 38,000 municipal employees, retirees, and beneficiaries.