LOGIN      CONTACT GMA      NEW TO GMA?                  

Senate Annexation, Deannexation, and Incorporation Study Committee Issues Final Report

December 15, 2015
Updated December 17, 2015.

The Senate Annexation, Deannexation, and Incorporation Study Committee has issued its final report. The committee was created by Senate Resolution 609 during the 2015 Legislative Session. Its task was to review current annexation, deannexation, and municipal incorporation laws and procedures, address any negative impacts of these laws and procedures and to make recommendation to ensure that the process is clear, open, equitable, and in the best interest of the citizens of Georgia. 

Senator Elena Parent of the 42nd chaired the Committee. The other members included Senator John Albers of the 56th, Senator Charlie Bethel of the 54th, Senator Frank Ginn of the 47th, and Senator Fran Millar of the 40th. After examining the information collected, the Committee provided several recommendations to improve the process of annexation, deannexation and incorporation including:
  • Codify feasibility studies for any new cities and require the study to include the impact on existing cities, county government and government entities including school districts
  • Further study of a township or village concept
  • Codify the House Governmental Affairs and House Intragovernmental Coordination Committees rule that requires all municipal incorporation legislation be introduced during the first year of a biennium so it can be reviewed properly over a two-year period
  • Codify a referendum requirement
  • Prohibit the City Lite concept
  • Directly notify every affected local government whenever local legislation is proposed
  • Clarify the annexation arbitration process
  • Create  and adopt a new Service Delivery Agreement before the end of the transitional period
  • Further study of the current process of transfer and compensation of property due to annexations and incorporations to establish a more uniform and equitable method
The Committee held four meetings at the State Capitol and met on August 24, 2015, September 22, 2015, October 21, 2015, and November 3, 2015.