LOGIN      CONTACT GMA      NEW TO GMA?                  

SB 386, Atlanta-region Transit Link "ATL" Commission & Transit SPLOST

Municipal Impact Position Contact
Evaluating Tom Gehl, (678) 686-6247

Last Updated: 2/19/2018
Subject Area: Taxation | Transportation |
Resources: bill text
This legislation would create an Atlanta-region Transit Link "ATL" Commission administratively attached to the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority. The ATL Commission would be charged with developing a plan, in consultation with the metropolitan planning organization, to provide regional transit services under a unified brand. 

The ATL Commission would be comprised of eleven initial members, with the governor chairing the commission, including the commissioner of the Georgia Department of Transportation, the CEO of MARTA, the mayor and council president of Atlanta, chairs of Clayton, DeKalb and Fulton counties, two mayors elected from Clayton and DeKalb counties from a caucus of mayors in each respective county. 

If other county jurisdictions pass a new Transit SPLOST or the MARTA tax, the chair of such county would serve on the board.  If the county and all of the cities in the county enter into an intergovernmental agreement to levy the new Transit SPLOST, then a mayor elected by a caucus of mayors within the county will serve on the ATL Commission Board. 
The new Transit SPLOST would be a special district and the tax would be used to "establish, enhance, and maintain or improve access to transit, including general obligation debt."  Once a county desires to call for a Transit SPLOST, the county would notify the ATL Commission which would prepare a list of transit projects within the county to be funded by the tax.  The rate of the sales tax would be .75% if there is no intergovernmental agreement between the county and all of the cities in the county, and the rate would be 1% with an intergovernmental agreement. When an intergovernmental agreement is in place, such agreement would have to stipulate that the transit services in the county are provided by MARTA. 


2/6/2018 - Assigned to Senate Committee


Sen. Brandon Beach
District 21
Contact Info