Eight Legislators Honored with “Champion of Georgia Cities” Award

May 15, 2012

With the close of each Legislative Session, GMA looks to recognize those state representatives and senators who provided key support to Georgia’s cities during the most recent General Assembly term. This year eight legislators were named a “Champion of Georgia Cities.”
This distinction is not given lightly. "Each of these legislators is recognized for their on-going commitment to Georgia’s cities and their support of key GMA legislative items,” said GMA Executive Director Lamar Norton. "All are true champions of Georgia’s cities.”
For the 2011-2012 term, the following legislators were recognized:
  • Sen. Frank Ginn (R-Danielsville)
  • Sen. Renee Unterman (R-Buford)
  • Sen. Tim Golden (R-Valdosta)
  • Sen. Charlie Bethel (R-Dalton)
  • Rep. Andy Welch (R-McDonough)
  • Rep. John Meadows (R-Calhoun)
  • Rep. Jay Powell (R-Camilla)
  • Rep. Don Parsons (R- Marietta)
GMA will present each with a framed historical photo depicting city scenes from his or her district.
The Champion of Georgia Cities award is a reflection of a legislator’s understanding and commitment to issues that are important to municipalities. However, not all state legislators are as familiar with how local government works. City officials are encouraged to conduct a Hometown Connection program to educate their House and Senate members on the challenges and opportunities facing Georgia's cities.